Map of Americian Samoa


     The Samoan Islands are roughly a 3200 km (2000 mile) southern drop from the Hawaiian Islands, and are about the same distance east of Australia. Tutuila is the largest of the 7 islands which comprise American Samoa. Pago Pago Harbor, the crater of an old volcano, is one of the best natural harbors in the South Pacific as it is deep and protected by mountains. The interior of Tutuila and the Manua group (Ta’u, Ofu and Olosega) are mountainous and rugged. 

    The Manu’a group lies about 100km (62 miles) east of Tutuila. Far to the east is the uninhabited Rose Atoll, and far to the north is another atoll, Swains. ‘Aunu’u, the smallest of the inhabited islands, can be reached by boat from Tutuila. About 200 km (120 miles) northwest lies the islands Upolu, Savai’i and the two small islands Manono and Apolima. These 4 islands are geographically part of the Samoan group, but are politically separate making up the independent nation of Samoa.